Vice President of HSEQ

Joyce Ryel

Ms. Ryel joined Fortis in 2018 bringing with her considerable knowledge in the field of health, safety, environmental safekeeping and quality for both crew and client alike. Ms. Ryel is responsible for planning and directing the HSEQ function across the company and leads a team of HSE professionals who dedicate each day to training, mentoring and guiding a safe operation in the field to insure everyone arrives home safe each day. With more than 20 years in the oil and gas industry Ms. Ryel brings a vast amount of experience in leading companies in HSEQ who are on a fast track for growth.

Prior to joining Fortis, Ms. Ryel spent the past two decades with Houston-based Superior Energy Services serving in several roles, including HSE Director, HSEQ Corporate Auditor, and Senior Advisor – DOT & Regulatory Policy for Superior’s North American operations.

Ms. Ryel received both her bachelor’s degree and master’s degree from the University of Central Oklahoma where she was also a Professor for the past ten years, teaching transportation safety and DOT regulations. Ms. Ryel currently serves as the chairperson for the National Service, Transmission, Exploration and Production Safety Network (STEPS) and the American Petroleum Institute (API) Recommended Practice (RP) 54 Task Group. She currently serves on the Board of Directors and as the national treasurer for the Association of Energy Service Companies (AESC), where she also served as President from 2015-2016, and on the planning committee of the OSHA Oil & Gas Safety and Health Conference. Ms. Ryel has served in numerous leadership positions, including chairperson of the Mid-Continent Safety and Production Safety (MCEPS), on the board of directors for the Oklahoma Trucking Association and as a member of the safety committee of the Oklahoma Independent Petroleum Association (OIPA). She was honored as the Oklahoma Safety Management Council Professional of the Year, along with the AESC’s Safety Person of the Year and Golden Rod Wrench Lifetime Achievement Award.